Rugby League in the ABC in the late 1950s


In 1957 the 3 daily newspapers and the ABC formed a social football competition called The Journalist Cup. The man most responsible for its formation was Gordon Knox from the Daily Mirror. The competition was between the Sun-Herald, The Daily Telegraph, The Daily Mirror and the ABC.

The ABC Team was formed by a combination of journalists, and radio and television staff. Note that ABC-TV at Gore Hill only commenced in November 1956.

In 1958 the ABC team won the cup. No records were kept of this competition, and there were no reports published in the ABC in-house magazine Radio Active.

The following people were members of the ABC Rugby League Teams in the period 1958 to 1960:

  Fullback : Barry Hall (TV)
Wings : Gary Scully (Journalist) & Laukie Shaw (Journalist)
Centres : Brian Rhys-Jones (Sport) & Wilf Buckler (Sport)
Five Eight : ?
Half Back : Bob Richardson (Sport)
Lock : Bob Moore (Announcer)
2nd Row : Rex Lapham (TV) & John Marsden (TV)
Front Row : Alfie Woods (Radio) & Jeff Mowatt
Hooker and Captain : Norman May (Sport)

The above list was prepared by the combined research efforts of Rex Lapham and Wendy Borchers (from ABC Archives).

Footnote : As a matter of interest the first telecast of a rugby league game was between Newcastle South and Maitland, on July 2nd 1959, live to air at 3.30pm, beamed by microwave links to Gore Hill from Maitland (New South Wales).



Please contact the web-coordinators Bob Sitsky or Colin McPherson on if you can provide further information about the ABC Rugby League teams from the late 1950s.


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional